top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJT Vannah

Joule's Views: Choose Gratitude! 11/24/2021

Updated: Nov 28, 2021

This is the first blog post from Joule's perspective... Enjoy!



You humans all know life is about choices… Your place right now reflects the path you’ve taken one choice at a time… As a 3.5-year-old Corgi (Joule), I’ve observed a lot of human behavior that continues to perplex me… I’m told my dog brain hasn’t developed that executive functioning/planning, deep-thinking neocortex that you humans have. So maybe my lack of understanding is due to that evolutionary restraint.


I like to keep things simple: Eat! Play! Learn! Love! Sleep! That’s my tagline… It’s those incessant thought patterns that lead you, humans, to create lots of obstacles, simply by what you choose to focus on. In most cases, it’s a voluntary choice. The more you think about something, the bigger it becomes… Why would you select something other than all that is good? Why? Why? Why?


Too many humans let their inner workings create chaos… Let’s take Thanksgiving - My beloved turkey day! Many humans couldn’t spend time with family last year due to COVID-19. Why wouldn’t we be anything but exhilaratingly grateful to share special moments this year…?

Even sparring family dynamics are a reason to be grateful… Those uncomfortably awkward differences, that maybe escape words… Re-direct thoughts mindfully to detect each unique gift of everyone’s essence. Why not plan a test run during Thanksgiving dinner to state what we appreciate of each person sharing our tables. How about doing this every day…?


Once we voice our gratitude, amplification results… That trait identified will be enhanced. This is a powerful gift you humans have a great capacity to share with each other daily! So, when I’m barking at you, remember – that’s the canine curse. We woof gangs do speak our minds but are limited in our communication tools.


When tempted by frivolous unkind thoughts, the equivalent of a “Joule growl” …dismiss them – choose gratitude. Not only will that accelerate the good graces of those in your company, but you will feel a greater sense of "being" too.

Consider this practice every day, willfully choosing gratitude! Watch what happens… just as I have while I’m barking my approval accordingly!!!

Happy Thanksgiving!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page